Women’s handball: The 24th African championship in Cameroon.

Spread the love

The African Women’s Handball Cup of Nations started yesterday, Tuesday, June 8, 2021, at the Palais polyvalent des sports in Yaounde, Cameroon.
Cameroon is hosting the 24th edition of the African Senior Women’s Handball Championship. On this occasion, Henri Eyebe Ayissic, Minister of Lands, Cadastre and Land Affairs, was present at the opening ceremony of this continental event.
Indeed, on the programme, the host country played Kenya yesterday. This was the second match of the day after the curtain raiser between Nigeria and RD Congo shortly before the official opening ceremony.
Eleven nations will be competing until 18 June to win the trophy of this 24th edition. But only a few of them can really claim the continental crown.
On the one hand, the Angolans; seven gold medals at the All Africa Games, thirteen African Cup of Nations wins, including eight in a row between 1998 and 2012… The Angolan national team is undoubtedly in a class of its own in Africa. Twice continental title holders, the group coached by Felipe Cruz is the only favourite of this edition. The Angolans are in Group C with Congo and Cape Verde and have been riding an incredible wave of momentum for over two decades. The Angolans, who are in Pool C, will face the former 2018 quarter-finalists, Republic of Congo.
In fact, Cameroon, the host country, placed in group B with the Democratic Republic of Congo, has never reached the highest step of the podium in this discipline; it has reached three finals, in 1979, 1987 and 2004. And will try to take revenge after the defeat conceded in 2018 (33-22); during the match for third place in the competition.
Nigeria return to the tournament for the first time since 1994, while Kenya are expected to make their debut at the Championship.
Without making any noise; Senegal; the defending runners-up, are in Group A with 2014 champions Tunisia and Madagascar who are qualifying for the first time and Guinea who are making a comeback after reaching the quarter-finals in their three previous appearances.
As a result; the top two teams from the three groups will automatically qualify for the knockout stages; and the two third placed teams with the best record will join them.
Finally, the championship will serve as a qualifying tournament for the first four teams to participate in the next world championship. This will be from 02 to 19 December 2021 in Spain.
Thus, the Groups of the competition:
Group: A: Senegal, Tunisia, Guinea Conakry, Madagascar; B: RD Congo, Cameroon, Nigeria, Kenya; C: Angola, Congo, Cape Verde, Algeria.


© Credit photos : Twitter

Please Post Your Comments & Reviews

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *